Mon Aug 15 - Class Intro

Tues Aug 16 - 3 Branches of Science - Physical / Life / Earth and Space

Wed Aug 17 - Careers in Science - Something for Everyone

Thurs Aug 18 - Scientific Words - How can we better understand them?

Fri Aug 19 - Intro to Scientific Method - Doing Good Research

Mon Aug 22 - More Scientific Method - What are Variables?

Tues Aug 23 - What makes an experiment more reliable?   HW: Simpson Science

Wed Aug 24 - Recording Data - Quantitative vs Qualitative Observations / Into Graphing

Thurs Aug 25 - How to Build a Graph - 

Fri Aug 26 - Build a Graph in Class (Bar and Line) - due at the end of period.

Mon Aug 29 - What is energy?   How do we use energy?

Tues Aug 30 -  Identifying the 6 Forms of Energy

Wed Aug 31 - Energy can be Converted to many forms. 

Thurs Sep 1 - Intro to Fossil Fuels - HW - NB: What is Energy / Forms of Energy

Fri Sep 2 - Finding the Balance - Human Energy Needs vs. Our Future

Mon Sep 5 - Labor Day - NO SCHOOL

Tues Sep 6 - Coal - The Solid Fossil Fuel

Wed Sep 7 - Oil - More than Gas comes from Oil - HW - NB: Fossil Fuels

Thurs Sep 8 - Natural Gas - the other fossil fuel

Fri Sep 9 - The Effects of our Fossil Fuel Use

Mon Sep 12 - Greenhouse Effect / Global Warming

Tues Sep 13 - Quiz - Types of Energy / Fossil Fuels / Effects of Fossil Fuels

Wed Sep 14 - Greenhouse Effect / Global Warming / Climate Change - Cont

Thurs Sep 15 - Writing Activity - Global Warming

Fri Sep 16 - Alternative Energy Group Presentations - Working Day

Mon Sep19 - Alternative Energy Group Presentations - Working Day

Tues Sep 20 - Solar Energy and Ethanol - Presentations

Wed Sep 21 - Wind Energy / Tidal Energy / Hydrogen  - Presentations - HW: NB - Solar and Wind Energy

Thurs Sep 22 - Nuclear Energy / Biomass - Presentations - HW: Nuclear Energy

Fri Sep 23 - Hydroelectric / Geothermal - Presentations - HW: Other Alternative Energies

Mon Sep 26 - Comparing Advantages / Disadvantages of our Energy Options

Tues Sep 27 - Quiz - Alternative Energies   HW: Test Review Guide

Wed Sep 28 - Correct Test Review - Review Day -

Thurs Sep 29 - Test - Forms of Energy / Energy Conversions / Fossil Fuels and Effects / Alternative Energies

Fri Sep 30 - What does it mean to be Green?

Mon Oct 3 - Start Unit on Magnets - Basic Parts of a Magnet

Tues Oct 4 - Magnetic Field / Poles / Magnetic Domains

Wed Oct 5 - Introduction to Electromagnets - HW: Basic Concepts of Magnets

Thurs Oct 6 - Uses of Electromagnets Building an Electromagnet

Fri Oct 7 - Magnet and Electromagnet Review - HW: Magnet and Electromagnets

Mon Oct 10 - Magnet and Electromagnet Simulation

Tues Oct 11 - Quiz - Magnets and Electromagnets - HW: Test Review

Wed Oct 12 - Correct Test Review and In Class Review

Thurs Oct 13 - Test - Magnets and Electromagnets

Fri Oct 14 - Magnets and Electromagnets Modern Uses and Wrap Up

Mon Oct 17 - Electric ChargesStatic Electricity

Tues Oct 18 - Static Electricity Demos

Wed Oct 19 - Static Electricity and Lightning / Lightning Safety - HW: Notebook: Static Electricity

Thurs Oct 20 - Van Der Graff Generator and Static Fun

Fri Oct 21 - Nye: Static Electricity - Introduction to Current Electricity

Mon Oct 24 - Current Electricity - Who / What / How

Tues Oct 25 - The War of the Currents - Edison vs. Tesla

Wed Oct 26 - Building Series and Parallel Circuits - HW: Current Electricity

Thur Oct 27 - Quiz - Static and Current Electricity

Fri Oct 28 - Nye: Current Electricity - HW: Test Review

Mon Oct 31 - Batteries and the Third Prong - How do they Work?

Tues Nov 1 - Review for Test

Wed Nov 2 - Test Static and Current Electricity

Thurs Nov 3 - Work and Power - Math and Science

Fri Nov 4 - Equations and Formulas - Work and Power

Wed Nov 9- Introduction to Simple Machines

Thurs Nov 10 - Inclined Plane / Wedge / Screw

Fri Nov 11 - Lever and Wheel and Axle

Mon Nov 14 - Pulley and Mechanical Advantage - HW: Vocab Crossword

Tues Nov 15 - Compound Machines - HW: NB - Simple Machines

Wed Nov 16 - Simple Machines All Around Us (In Class)

Thurs Nov 17 - Simple Machines Summary

Fri Nov 18 - Quiz - Work/Power/Simple Machines HW: Test Review

Mon  Nov 21 - In Class Test Review Activity

Tues Nov 22 - Test - Work/Power/Simple Machines

Mon Nov 28 - Forces - Balanced / Unbalanced

Tues Nov 29 - Newton's First Law of Motion - Inertia HW: Notebook: Forces

Wed Nov 30 - More Inertia - and Intro to Speed and Acceleration

Thurs Dec 1 - Speed and Acceleration Calculations

Fri Dec 2 - Newton's Second Law

Mon Dec 5 - Newton's Third Law

Tues Dec 6 - Examples/Demos - Newtons Laws - HW: Notebook: Newtons Laws

Wed Dec 7 - What is Momentum?

Thurs Dec 8 - Newtons Laws in Sports/Activities

Fri Dec 9 - Reading/Using a Distance and Time Graph

Mon Dec 12 - Introduction to Gravity

Tues Dec 13 - Quiz - Forces / Speed and Acceleration / Newtons Laws

Wed Dec 14 - Myths and Truths of Falling Objects / Introduction to Friction - HW - Notebook: Gravity

Thurs Dec 15 - Friction - Good or Bad?   Needed or Not Needed? HW - Notebook: Friction

Fri Dec 16 - Quiz - Gravity and Friction

Mon Dec 19 - Review for Test   -  Please see below

Finals Schedule for Classes - (We aren't taking a Final - but a Chapter/Unit Test) - but must follow this schedule

Tues  Dec 20 - Periods 1, 5, and 7

Wed Dec 21 - Periods 3 and 6

Thurs Dec 22 - Periods 2 and 4

Tues Jan 10 - What is a Wave?

Wed Jan 11 - 2 Different Wave Models (Transverse vs. Longitudinal)

Thurs Jan 12 - Common Wave Measurements

Fri Jan 13 - Sound: A Form of Energy

Mon Jan 16 - Parts of a Sound Wave

Tues Jan 17 -Relationship of What we Hear vs. Wave Patterns

Wed Jan 18 - Pitch (Frequency) and Loudness (Amplitude)

Thur Jan 19 - The Human Ear - How does it work?

Fri Jan 20 - Acoustics - Music vs. Noise - What's the Difference?

Mon Jan 23 - Sound Waves - Reflected and Absorbed

Tues Jan 24 - Uses of Echolocation - HW: NB: Sound Energy

Wed Jan 25 - Quiz - Waves and Sound Energy

Thurs Jan 26 - Review for Test

Fri Jan 27 - Test - Waves and Sound Energy

Mon Jan 30 - The Electromagnetic Spectrum /  Introduction to Visible Light

Tues Jan 31 - Light and Color -  HW: Electromagnetic Spectrum Foldable

Wed Feb 1 - Transparent, Translucent Opaque - Reflection vs. Refraction HW: Notebook - Light Part 1

Thurs Feb 2 - Light and the Human Eye - HW: Notebook - Light Part 2

Fri - Feb 3 - Quiz - Light Energy - Foldable Project Due

Begin Earth Science

Mon Feb 6 - The Structure of Earth

Tues Feb 7 - Convection in the Mantle

Wed Feb 8 - Alfred Wagner - Continental Drift

Thurs Feb 9 - Evidence of Plate Tectonics

Fri Feb 10 - Sea Floor Spreading - The Birth of Plate Tectonics

Mon Feb 13 - Earthquakes

Tues Feb 14 - The New Madrid Fault - Volcanoes - HW: Notebook: Earth's Layers/Plate Tectonics

Wed Feb 15 - Type of Volcanoes

Thurs Feb 16 - Plate Tectonics and Earth's Processes

Fri Feb 17 - Quiz: Earth's Layers / Plate Tectonics

Mon Feb 20 - No School - Presidents Day

Tues Feb 21 - Review in Class

Wed Feb 22 - Test: Earth's Layers / Plate Tectonics

Thurs Feb 23 - Course Scheduling In Class - No Science

Fri Feb 24 - Introduction to Rocks and Minerals / 3 Types of Rocks

Mon Feb 27 - Igneous Rocks

Tues Feb 28 - Sedimentary Rocks

Wed Mar 1 - Metamorphic Rocks

Thurs Mar 2 - The Rock Cycle

Fri Mar 3 - The Rock Flow Chart and Rocks Review

Mon Mar 6 - What are Minerals - How do they relate to rocks?

Tues Mar 7 - Properties and Identification of Minerals - HW: 3 Types of Rock

Wed Mar 8 - How do Minerals Form / Common uses of Minerals HW: Minerals Review

Thurs Mar 9 - Review for Test

Fri Mar 10 - Test: Rocks and Minerals  (End of Quarter)

Mon Mar 13 - Weathering: Mechanical vs. Chemical

Tues Mar 14 - Erosion: Common Agents of Erosion

Wed Mar 15 - Glaciers and the Ice Age

Thurs Mar 16 - Glaciers - How they Shaped Earth - the evidence

Fri Mar 17 -  Mass Wasting - Landslides / Mudslides

Mon Mar 20 - Flowing Rivers and Erosion

Tues Mar 21 - Rivers and Changing of Shape - HW: Study Guide: Erosion/Depostion

Wed Mar 22 - Quiz - Weathering / Erosion / Deposition -  Introduction to Landforms Project

Thurs Mar 23 - Work on Landforms Project in Class

Fri Mar 24 - Work on Landforms Projuect in Class -    Landforms project due at the completion of class.

Mon Apr 3 - What are Cells?   How do they fit into the structure of living things?

Tues Apr 4 - Robert Hooke - The First Cells

Wed Apr 5 - Development of Cell Theory -  Reading: Scientists and Cell Theory

Thur Apr 6 - What is a Prokaryote?

Fri Apr 7 - Bacteria - Friend or Foe?

Mon Apr 10 - Microscopic One Celled Organisms

Tues Apr 11  - What is a Eukaryote?

Wed Apr 12 - Basic Parts of a Cell - Reading - Plant vs. Animal Cell

Thurs Apr 13 - What makes a Plant Cell Different? - HW: Notebook - Cell Theory / Cell Parts

Fri Apr 14 - Good Friday NO SCHOOL

Mon Apr 17 - Easter Monday NO SCHOOL

Tues Apr 18 - The Organelles - A more specific look

Wed Apr 19 - The Organelles - Continued

Thurs Apr 20 - The Cell is like a City!  HW: Test Review Guide

Fri Apr 21 - Quiz (Cell Theory / Prokaryotes / Eukaryotes / Cell Organelles)

Mon Apr 24 - Review for Test

Tues Apr 25 - Test (Cell Theory / Prokaryotes / Eukaryotes / Cell Organelles)

Wed Apr 26 - Why would we need new cells?   Intro to Mitosis

Thurs Apr 27 - DNA Replication and Interphase - Where Mitosis begins?  HW: Cell Division Reading

Fri Apr 28 - Phases of Mitosis

Mon May 1 - Lets Draw the Stages of Mitosis

Tues May 2 - Meiosis - Only for sex cells!

Wed May 3 - Haploid vs. Diploid Cells - HW: Mitosis vs. Meiosis

Thurs May 4 - Inherited Traits and Meiosis - HW: Test Review

Fri May 5 - Quiz - Mitosis and Meiosis

Mon May 8 - Mitosis and Meiosis Review - Kahoot!

Tues May 9 - Test: Mitosis / Meiosis

Wed May 10 - The Cell Membrane - Why is it Important?

Thurs May 11 - Passive Transport - The basics of diffusion

Fri May 12 - High Concentration to Low Concentration - The way diffusion moves!

Mon May 15 - What is Osmosis?   Is it the same - Is it different!  HW: Diffusion / Osmosis Reading and Questions

Tues May 16 - Examples of diffusion and osmosis

Wed May 17 - Passive Transport vs. Active Transport - Whats the Difference?

Thurs May 18 - Quiz - Diffusion / Osmosis

Fri May 19 - Test Review in Class - Diffusion / Osmosis

Mon May 22 - Final Test - Periods 2 / 4

Tues May 23 - Final Test - Periods 3 / 6

Wed May 24 - Final Test - Periods 1 / 5 / 7

Thurs May 25 - Student Choice

Fri May 26 - Last Day of School